Community Profiles

Bon Homme County

Founded in 1862, Bon Homme County is home to Avon (41 minutes to Yankton), Scotland (35 minutes), Springfield (36 minutes), Tabor (21 minutes), and Tyndall (32 minutes). The county has a strong ethnic tradition honoring the European immigrants who homesteaded in the region. The welcoming and inclusive community is based on an agricultural economy. Bon Homme county borders Yankton county to the west and the Missouri River to the south. Springfield Recreation Area offers access to the Missouri River and Lewis & Clark Lake. The Avon, Bon Homme, and Scotland school districts provide education from kindergarten to high school....Learn More »

Cedar County, NE

Founded in 1857, Cedar county is named for its abundant cedar trees. Coleridge (38 minutes to Yankton), Fordyce (17 minutes), Hartington (28 minutes), Laurel (50 minutes), and Randolph (40 minutes) offer the charms of rural, small town living. The county organizes an annual county fair, bringing in top name country musicians to perform. Cedar county borders South Dakota along the Missouri River to the north. Bow Creek Recreation Area offers access to the Missouri National Recreational River. Public education from Kindergarten to high school is provided by Hartington-Newcastle Public Schools and Laurel-Concord-Coleridge Schools. Private education is available from Cedar Catholic Schools....Learn More »

Knox County, NE

When Knox county was first organized in 1857, it was named L’Eau Qui Court (French for Running Water) in honor of the Niobrara River. Later it was renamed for General Henry Knox. Knox county is home to Bloomfield (32 minutes to Yankton), Creighton (55 minutes), Crofton (16 minutes), Niobrara (46 minutes), Santee (51 minutes), Verdigre (61 minutes), and Wausa (35 minutes). Heavily focused on the agricultural industry, Knox county is beautiful with rolling hills, and the Niobrara River. The Lewis & Clark Lake Recreation Area is located on the south side of the Lake. Niobrara State Park surrounds the confluence of the Niobrara and Missouri Rivers. Public kindergarten through high school education is offered by Bloomfield Community Schools, Creighton Community Public Schools, and Crofton Community Schools....Learn More »

Yankton County

In 1861, Yankton was designated as territorial capital and the county was organized around the same time. Local Native Americans called the area “E-Hank-Ton-Wan” meaning “people of the end village”, which shortened over the years to Yankton. The county is home to Gayville (17 minutes to Yankton), Irene (30 minutes), and the eponymous Yankton. Yankton borders Nebraska to the south across the Missouri River. Recreational opportunities abound at Chief White Crane Recreation Area, Cottonwood Recreation Area, Pierson Ranch Recreation Area, and Lewis & Clark Lake Recreation Area surrounding Lewis & Clark Lake. Access the Missouri National Recreational River to the south. Major industries in the county include agriculture, healthcare, and manufacturing. Yankton School District offers quality public education from preschool to high school. Gayville-Volin School District offers elementary through high school education. Missouri Valley Christian Academy and Sacred Heart School provide private options for pre-kindergarten through 8th grade. Yankton is home to Mount...Learn More »