City Government

The Yankton Board of City Commissioners is made up of nine Commissioners. Each Commissioner serves a three year term and may be re-elected. The Mayor is appointed by his or her peers at the first meeting in May of each year. The Mayor may also serve more than one term. Visit their webpage.

Yankton City Commissioners

Term expiring in 2021

  • Bridget Benson
  • Dave Carda
  • Nathan Johnson (Mayor)

Term expiring in 2022

  • Amy Miner
  • Mason Schramm
  • Jerry Weber

    Term expiring in 2023

    • Ben Brunick
    • Tony Maibaum
    • Stephanie Moser

      Description of Local Government

      The Council/Manager plan is the system of local government that combines the strong political leadership of elected officials in the form of a city commission, with the strong managerial experience of an appointed local government manager. The plan establishes a representative system where all power is concentrated in the elected council as a whole and where the council hires a professionally trained manager to oversee the delivery of public services.

      The City Manager’s office employs four persons: the City Manager, an Administrative Secretary, the Director of Human Resources and Employee Engagement and the Information Services Manager. The City Manager’s office serves as the Information Center for the City.

      Yankton’s leadership appreciates primary employers and takes great pride in helping businesses to locate and grow in Yankton. Yankton’s government is ready to partner with you for success.