South Sioux City, Winnebago, Yankton, Vermillion areas named 'Opportunity Zones'

Monday, May 14, 2018

SOUTH SIOUX CITY -- State officials in Nebraska and South Dakota have nominated five Siouxland census tracts to be designated as "Opportunity Zones," meaning they could receive future investments through a new federal program meant to spur development. 

In Nebraska, the nominated tracts include the northern portion of South Sioux City and the northern portion of Thurston County that includes the Winnebago reservation. In South Dakota, the zones include the outer areas of Vermillion, a portion of western Yankton and another area west of Yankton. 

The state of Iowa has not yet announced its nominations. 

The designated tracts' nomination as Opportunity Zones mean that businesses and property within those areas will be eligible to receive future investments from "Opportunity Funds" being set up by the federal government.

Continue to full article

Category: (none)